Twitter retains direct messages for years, including messages you and others have deleted, but also data sent to and from accounts that have been deactivated and suspended, according to security researcher Karan Saini. … By downloading your account’s data, it’s possible to download all of the data Twitter stores on you.
Are Twitter direct messages private?
About Direct Messages. Direct Messages are the private side of Twitter. You can use Direct Messages to have private conversations with people about Tweets and other content. … You can start a private conversation or create a group conversation with anyone who follows you.
Are direct messages on Twitter safe?
Twitter direct messages (or DMs), some of the most sensitive user data on the platform, are vulnerable to this week’s kind of internal compromise. That’s because they are not end-to-end encrypted, so Twitter itself has access to them.
Do Twitter direct messages disappear?
Anytime a direct message is deleted by one user, it disappears from both users’ message box. Always save important messages to a document on your computer to prevent the information from being lost if the other user decides to delete a DM.
Are direct messages included in Twitter archive?
Not only does your Twitter archive give you an easy place to view your past tweets, but it also includes all of your direct messages along with all of the pictures, videos and GIFs you’ve posted. In essence, your Twitter archive is a snapshot of your account at the moment it’s created.
How do you delete Twitter messages on both sides?
Scroll down and click on “Direct Messages.” Find the offending DM thread and open it up. Hover over the direct message that you want to delete, and you should see a trash can icon. Click on the trash can icon.
How can I see my old DMs on Twitter?
Go to your account settings by clicking on the profile icon at the top right of the page and selecting Settings from the drop-down menu. Click Request your archive. When your download is ready, we’ll send an email with a d.
What does GREY tick mean on Twitter?
the grey tick means she hasn’t read it, the blue tick means she has X.
How long do Twitter messages last?
Twitter retains direct messages for years, including messages you and others have deleted, but also data sent to and from accounts that have been deactivated and suspended, according to security researcher Karan Saini.
Do DMs disappear when you delete Twitter?
As for your DMs, they will also disappear once you deactivate. They will show up again if you return, but if you don’t, they will be permanently deleted. Your posts will also disappear from users’ feeds. If someone has retweeted or liked the content you shared, they will no longer see these once you’ve deactivated.
Will blocking someone on Twitter delete messages?
Spotted by lifehacker, upon blocking a person your DM history with them will be immediately erased. Be it spam messages from bots or just generally unpleasant Twitter conversations, Twitter has made it pretty easy to black someone.
Does Twitter archive include deleted tweets?
Twitter itself maintains an archive of all published tweets, even the deleted ones. Normally, it doesn’t allow anyone to access this data, but any user can search through their own Twitter history.
What does Twitter archive data include?
Your Twitter archive is a ZIP file that contains all of your tweets, direct messages, shared media, preferences, and virtually everything else you’ve done on Twitter since signing up. Requesting your archive is easy, but it can take 24 hours or more for Twitter to generate the necessary files.